Supah Star!

Post Op Appt

Soooo, exactly HOW do you thank the extraordinary, human being who used his mean skills, to literally cut out ALL the Cancer from your body?

Well, Dr. Dunham seemed just thrilled to death with banana bread (well, Tom DID make it), and the simple fact that I was thankful.

Huh? (A topic to be discussed at a later date)..Why in the HELL are all these amazing doctors not appreciated enough? Geez, these people are saving lives and they act like I’m the first person to ever shower them with adoration. Seriously, they all blush and get all uncomfortable.. just like.. just like.. you guessed it, teachers.. just like me. (cup calling the kettle black?)

When he came into the room to check my stitches and general health, our beautiful daughter stood up next to her Dad.

“Doc, you’re pretty much a celebrity in my circle, so Gracie wanted to meet you.”

So there we were, all smashed into the tiny patient’s room with his transcriber.

Everything is doing great, (except for a complication with Axillary Web Syndrome.. blog coming soon) so he released me to the physical therapist, oncologist and radiology oncologist to continue with my treatment plan.

He spoke with Gracie about the simple and yet important fact that she now, has a higher risk of getting breast cancer. He shared with her the importance of self-exams and early detection, as well as recommended she have a physician’s professional exam yearly starting in her early 20s. Sad, but now her reality… she must now tell all of her doctor’s that her mother had (past-tense pretty soon) breast cancer.

I have my next appointment scheduled for early January. Geez.. that’s AFTER Christmas. I know.. I’m totally crazy, but.. I’m gonna miss him.

 

2 thoughts on “Supah Star!

  1. Gratitude is an action word. Way to show it!

    Continued payers coming your way.

    💜 ~ Julie Sovey

Leave a Reply