SUPER Brave!

Dr. Robert Dunham

I immediately liked him. He’s calm, gentle, and so thorough. After performing his own ultrasound on me, he explained that all masses such as these.. 100% of the time are biopsied. He explained all the options, and because most of the time a needle biopsy doesn’t collect enough tissue to make a confident diagnosis..after talking with Tom we planned an Ultrasound Guided Core Biopsy.

Not happy about it, but I had to share with my boss, and my teammates that I was having this procedure and would miss a training I was REALLY looking forward to.

Biopsy Day

Tom and I worked out this morning, and man, Omar kicked our okole`s! It was great though. I felt strong!

I chitter-chattered with Brenda, his nurse. She has a 5th grader that perhaps would be coming to my school the following year. My blood pressure has been high for a year or so when I go to the doctor. She tried it a second time and distracted me with questions, “Let’s take these results, their much better! You have white-coat syndrome!” he heheh

I made her, the transcriber, and Doctor laugh when I warned them I was a fainter. I even faint when I’m already laying down! Last year I had a teeny, tiny spot on my shin removed by my dermatologist, and was fine until I saw/felt (not REALLY feel) her yank up the needle and thread for my stitches. Conk. I was OUT. he hehehe I had to stay laying down with the nurse for another almost half an hour before I could leave!

As Dr. Dunham prepared me for the procedure, (technically it is surgery because an incision is cut to allow the core needle in) I consciously took deep breaths and closed my eyes. He was so gentle numbing the skin, and the same while numbing within my breast around the mass… although admittedly I did feel it a little bit. Eeww.

I closed my eyes and literally imagined and counted out my workout from this morning. I didn’t give myself 10 seconds to rotate stations though, as Omar had. I zoomed from one exercise to the next. I worked out exercises AB, then again AB, then rotated on to the next. I was just finishing up station 3 when Doc was finishing up.

I DID IT!

There was some tugging, loud vacuum sounds, a wee bit of jolting, a sense of woozie.. but…

I DID IT!

I was brave.

Yeay me!

Prescription

1 day of rest, today is Friday. 10 days of no paddling or working out, ice therapy, and Acetaminophen if needed. Back to school on Monday!