Your Breast Light All Up-

You read it right.. I have lit up, sparkly breasts!

The MRI – Magnetic Resonance Imaging

  • Sooo, another 8 pages of health questionnaires,
  • ALL clothes and jewelry off and in a locker – the key around my wrist
  • snazzy, cozy scrubs (I always wanted to try them on) and fuzzy socks with non-stick gook on the bottom
  • hilarious tech telling me stupid, Dad-jokes.. which WORKED, because I didn’t feel the IV go in and taped down
  • laying face down on a bed with a U cut-out for my face and a two holes for my boobs to hang down, pillows under my feet (which didn’t fit until the bed raised up because apparently engineers don’t make designs around 6″1 women. Oh, btw.. I shrunk an inch)
  • IV connected, industrial strength ear plugs in
  • dreaming of diving with my honu (green sea turtles), swimming, swirling, flying, calmly chilling in our own peaceful world while the crashing of waves and chaotic snorkelers flail around 25 feet above us.. well in reality 40 minutes of the craziest, alternating patterns of crashing, banging, and ticking you could imagine (20 of those minutes with contrast dye that I didn’t even feel. In fact, I thought they forgot it and I would have to do it all over again!).
  • Dressing and thanking everyone for all that they do..”Thank you! Thank you everyone!”

The Results

Well.. let’s say inconclusive. Didn’t tell us a damned thing. Apparently there was too much ‘background enhancement’ so they were unable to see anything, INCLUDING the lesion bits left behind from my core biopsy!

“So.. what does this mean?”

“Well.. your breasts are dense and they light up in the imaging making it too difficult to differentiate anything. We know nothing more than we did with your ultrasound.”

**Disclaimer** For those of you that know me, I don’t have an amazing memory…well I really have no memory at all – so all quotes are used for relaying reflections only – you know.. the gist of it!

Leave a Reply